Writing About Chapters

I’m still making progress on the book. Not as fast as I’d like, but that always seems to be the case. That I’m still making progress is the important point. Words make me happy these days. The characters and story continue to develop. They’re donning complexities like clothes worn too long. Wrinkled and comfortable, all full of textures and smells to tweak your senses.

Starting with tomorrow, there are 70 days until World Fantasy. Finishing the novel is still within reach, especially if today’s 1,250 words is any indication. I knocked out a transitional chapter and I’ve got a solid beginning with my first 50 pages.

The new chapter was necessary to smooth the story pacing. And as an indication that writer muses definitely do talk to each other, I’m going to point you at Tobias S. Buckell and his journal entry from today about chapters.

As for my statistics:

Project Sacrifices / Into Dust Descend
Total Word Count: 11,250
Target Word Count: 90,000 to 100,000
Deadline: October 27, 2010

11250 / 90000 words. 13% done!

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

