One Step Forward

Finally got the first few words down on the short story I planned to work on at the end of last year. Went back and forth on setting (science fiction versus fantasy), which influenced how much information I would present about the main character’s differences (autistic).

Came into work yesterday, taking the same direction round the cubicles that I follow so I can turn on the lights, and bumped into one of the people from accounting. I said “excuse me,” as I stopped to let her pass, and she said I was OK because she knew my pattern in the morning. Which jibes with my character’s viewpoint. After that it was a simple matter to jot down the opening paragraphs and set myself to flow into the action.

I toyed with different titles during the outlining process, and I’ve settled on one from a while back when I toyed with an idea about a colony ship, which was the science fiction setting I wanted. Call this one Rote. Even better, since this is a short story, there’s an end in sight. The major selling point on short work.

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Step Forward

  1. EpeeBill says:

    So you wrote Rote?

  2. stephenwnagy says:

    Not yet. Still writing. Nice pun. :-)

Leave a Reply

