How to Fight Entropy

“You want to become a writer, write.”

“Writers write.”

“Just write.”

If you’re an aspiring writer, you’ve heard some variation on the above at some point in time. The advice almost sounds cliché, probably because it sounds so simple. But it’s also true.

I wrote my first complete short story after spending 18 months on my first novel. I worked on the novel almost every day, knocking out about 1,000 words each session. One of my daughter’s friends wanted to read the short, and she enjoyed it, had lots of questions about the inner workings and character motivations, so I sat down and looked hard at it again this morning because you can learn from your successes as well as from your mistakes.

There are a some missteps. Mostly transitions I might smooth using the hindsight provided by a decade’s time. But I liked what I saw. Which is a good thing. I hate reading something I wrote and stick out my tongue.

But based on that reading and my recognition of what I did right, my muse suggested a new story.

Why did she do this? Because I’m writing; the habit informs my thoughts, the excitement found with creation rewires my brain.

The new story needs a title yet, but the first line hits the right notes anyone would want in a first draft. I jotted down a few notes on where the story should go, and I know where to go after I finish the #wip or when I run into rough spots on the #wip.

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

