New Year, New Challenge

I didn’t read/re-read as many books as I would like this past year, finishing with only 29 by the time midnight rolled around last night and the ball dropped in Times Square. The drop probably happened because I didn’t get to read as many graphic novels as in past years. A couple of those 29 are short stories, since I started reading/re-reading F. Paul Wilson’s Repairman Jack series in chronological order. I got sidetracked for some reason, and didn’t tackle Black Wind yet, which is the “oldest” novel in the group, according to Wilson’s Secret History of the World.

So I’m still trying to hit 52, as I have since I started recording these since 2006. I’ve a backlog of pulp reprints to read because I’ve collected more Shadow, Doc Savage, and other Sanctum reprints, and I’ll probably do well.  There are the “new” Doc Savage adventures penned by Will Murray and published by Altus Press to add to the read/re-read list, as well. They’re not as short as the pulps, but they’re a fast, good read.

I won’t predict that I’ll hit the mark, however, since I’ve lots of writing to do this year. First up is finishing my short story for submission to Fantasy & Science Fiction for the guest editor, Charles Coleman Finlay, before tackling the novels again, and the odd shorts the muse throws my way.

Several standouts this year, different scenes and ideas staying with me well after I finished the books: King’s 11/22/63, because it’s a love story again, and he’s always at his best when he tells those kind of tales; Clancy’s debut with The Hunt For Red October, because the prose is straightforward and so damn readable; the sophomore effort of Jefferson Bass, because the drag queen character in Flesh and Bones partially inspired the short story I submitted to Midian Unmade, and while I only made the first cut and the story remains unsold, it’s still a good piece of fiction someone somewhere will read some day and appreciate as much as I do. :-)

***

2013 Books 

  1.  “Demonsong” by F. Paul Wilson
  2. Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett
  3. Murder Melody by Laurence Donovan
  4. “Aryans and Absinthe” by F. Paul Wilson
  5. Birds of Death by Lester Dent
  6. Dust of Death by Harold A. Davis and Lester Dent
  7. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  8. Fear Nothing by Dean Koontz
  9. The Stone Man by Lester Dent
  10. Carved in Bone by Jefferson Bass
  11. A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest C. Gaines
  12. 11/22/63 by Stephen King
  13. The Wind Through The Keyhole by Stephen King
  14. The Fate Joss by Walter B. Gibson
  15. The Golden Pagoda by Walter B. Gibson
  16. Without Fail by Lee Child
  17. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
  18. The Emperor of Death by D.L. Champion
  19. The Crime of Fu Kee Wong by D.L. Champion
  20. The Citadel of Hell by Norvell W. Page
  21. World War Z by Max Brooks
  22. The Spider and the Sons of Satan by Norvell W. Page
  23. Flesh and Bones by Jefferson Bass
  24. Breathless by Dean Koontz
  25. The King of Plagues by Jonathan Maberry
  26. The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy
  27. Horror in Gold by Lester Dent and Will Murray
  28. Blackout by Mira Grant
  29. Marked for Death by Richard Wormser
About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

