Goals

Just added some books to my GoodReads page as currently reading and to-read. And I also set my goal to read 52 books in 2015. Same goal as last year, same goal as the year before.

Ups and downs in 2014 contributed to a finish of 28 books. Knocked out the first third of the Doc Savage reprint by Sanctum Books that collects Terror Wears No Shoes, The Red Spider, and Return from Cormoral. If I hold to reading two of these collections each month (Doc Savage, Shadow, Spider, et cetera) I should be able to meet the goal. I find these pulps particularly inspiring as they let me balance my typical literary leanings with my own writing and the seat-of-our-pants headlong pacing you find in these oh so readable artifacts.

The short story I’m going to submit to The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction in a few days could possibly veer more toward the former, but I’m keeping in mind “The Body Politic” by Clive Barker, which does an excellent job walking the line between literary and headlong.

I’m going offline for the rest of the day. I’ll be watching football. Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl, but mostly I’m diving into the story with the intention of knocking out as many pages as possible before Ohio State faces Alabama tonight. Because the other goal I want to set, besides reading 52 books this year, is to write and write and write. I’ve one book to write at least, another that I can turn into series of shorts as I tackle some space opera. It’s 2015, and way back when I was in high school I recognized that I would be 37 if I reached the turn of the century. I’ve always flirted with writing as far back as when I was 11.

That was in 1974, when I had to write a story for sixth-grade English at St. Vincent de Paul. That’s the same year Stephen King published Carrie, and I’m seriously behind if I ever wanted to keep pace with someone who is arguably in my opinion one of the greatest writers of our era.

So for 2015, I’m going to write as well as read. Write and write and write. I’ve no excuses. Time and tide, you know?

***

What I Read – 2014
01 – The Impossible Theft by Thomas C. McClary
02 – Patriot Games by Tom Clancy
03 – Cold Death by Laurence Donovan
04 – Supernatural: Nevermore by Keith R.A. DeCandido
05 – The Unseen Killer by Walter B. Gibson
06 – Fragment by Warren Fahy
07 – The Golden Masks by Walter B. Gibson
08 – The South Pole Terror by Lester Dent
09 – Brand of the Werewolf by Lester Dent
10 – Supernatural: Witch’s Canyon by Jeff Mariotte
11 – Fear Cay by Lester Dent
12 – Nocturnal by Scott Sigler
13 – Wild Fire by Nelson DeMille
14 – The Shining by Stephen King
15 – Princep’s Fury by Jim Butcher
16 – A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin
17 – Persuader by Lee Child
18 – Voodoo Trail by Walter B. Gibson
19 – Death’s Harlequin by Theodore Tinsley
20 – The Devil’s Paymaster by Norvell W. Page
21 – The Benevolent Order of Death by Norvell W. Page
22 – The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly
23 – Legacies by F. Paul Wilson
24 – Doctor Sleep by Stephen King
25 – The Man of Bronze by Lester Dent
26 – The Land of Terror by Lester Dent
27 – The Black Echo by Michael Connelly
28 – Terror Wears No Shoes by Lester Dent

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

