Past, Present, Future

Last year was a year for transitions. Lost my job. Laid off because the new owner wanted to cut costs to increase their profits, and I’d worked there 22.5 years. Which sounds like I made too much money and was an easy out.

Found a new job selling furniture of all things, and I’ve been with Art Van since the end of March. I can’t believe I’ve been there for going on 10 months. You’d think retail work and hours, and straight commission pay would make things dicey (and it does to some extent), but it’s actually less stress than my old job. I still get to help people, solving problems, just in a different way.

Down side, however, is retail hours. I walk a little more than 5 miles a day the days I work, adding up to a marathon a week. While that means I’m healthier and stronger than I was, my weekends are now Tuesday and Wednesday, my day starts later and ends later, and I still haven’t figured out how to work gym time into the mix.

All of which means I need to tackle 2016 with a plan. I need to schedule schedule schedule, so I use my time as efficiently as possible. That way I’ll have more time for work around the house, more time for my family, more time for me to read and write.

First, I’m going to try my hand at the 68-day challenge promoted by Art Van, so I’m accountable for (a) exercise and (b) writing. That means that between tomorrow and March 13 I need to have gone to Planet Fitness at least three times a week for nine weeks and I need to have written between 275 and 300 pages. That’s enough time to get even more fit than a weekly marathon does for me now, and that’s also enough time to get a good start on a new book.

I’ve lost 52 pounds since I started tracking my weight in December 2014, but I’m at a plateau, and I’m ready to leave that behind. Hopefully I’ll have better numbers to report by this time next year. Or I’ll pleasantly surprise some of my peeps in Columbus when World Fantasy comes around.

Because if you do see me in Columbus, it’s going to be because I’ve succeeded, both physically and mentally.

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

