Resumption: Endings and Beginnings (1)

The last three years has seen a lot of changes in my life.

I had a stroke in early July 2014 that saw a variety of side effects that range from decreased tactile sensitivity on the left side of my body to difficulty writing. Six months later I lost a job I’d held for more than 22 years. I’d apparently outlived my usefulness for what I was paid, and if my job was filled again — which it wasn’t as far as I know — someone younger and cheaper could handle the duties.

I landed on my feet to some extent. I had a new job within two months, working as a salesperson with Art Van in Ann Arbor. Not the best paying job, but one with the possibility of a decent income, albeit one based on commissions. Our family made ends meet, though we had to dip into our retirement savings quite a bit to make up for the shortfall between my old income and my new one. I am grateful to Art Van, for taking a chance on someone with minimal to no sales experience, but lots of experience working with people (the aforementioned 22-plus years in the old job). I’ve met lots of great people, both coworkers and customers, and my life is richer for the experience.

But now it’s time for a change again, and I’m diving back into the tech support field in August, taking a job with Thomson Reuters here in Ann Arbor. I’ve two days left at the Art Van in Ann Arbor, with my last day being on Thursday as the store kicks off its late summer tent sale. I won’t get my farmer’s tan this summer as I’ve done in the past, working outside in 90° heat, but I’ll take being indoor pale and cool when that’s balanced against being hot and sweaty with no guarantee of success.

That latter point is one thing that motivated my decision to move on from Art Van. At least when you’re writing a story or novel, and an editor rejects it, you’re left with a finished product that has some value. You might find another editor who wants the story, and you’ve certainly learned something during its creation. You should learn how to interact with another guest from each encounter as well; sales is a craft as much as any other, and I’m certainly a better salesperson than when I hit the floor back in April 2015, but when you don’t make a sale, you’ve actually “paid” for that interaction with a guest, precisely because you’re working on commission, and the draw you’re taking each hour for the opportunity to work the sales floor is only recouped if you sold enough.

If I’ve learned anything, I hope it’s how to be more considerate of others. I’m hopeful that will help me as I move forward in my new position. That’s my plan.

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

