New Year, New Plan

This past year I’ve seen too many changes in life. I’ve moved, and I’ve seen friends, acquaintances, and peers pass. People I love, people I respected. Time does not stop for anyone, and I’m damned if I will let it continue to happen to me.

I spent today working on the book I’ve planned/hoped/wanted to write the past few years. The “big idea” struck while we were living back in Alabama, and I’ve kept notes and let the plot churn. Over time, I figured out my main characters and what I want them to experience. Just as important, I figured out what the book is about.

Working title? Familiar.

Today’s achievement? Broad strokes on an outline, where I plan on seven parts, initially mirroring the stages of grief examined by the Kubler-Ross model: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance. Preceding denial for my purposes is shock/disbelief. And following acceptance I will either end with hope or crisis, or a combination of both if my past work is any indication.

Starting with broad strokes allows me to slot different plot elements into their appropriate places. My ideal deadline for an initial draft, before I seek readers, as I want to finish the book and shop it around toward the end of the year. Perhaps I’ll see some of you in Kansas City.

About stephenwnagy

writer, father, husband. not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment